India Becomes a Member in UN Human Rights Council

India has been elected to the United Nations (UN) Human Rights Council for three years on Friday. The beginning of India’s tenure will start from January 1, 2019.

India was in the Asia-Pacific region. India has the highest number of 188 votes in 18 new members. New members of the Human Rights Council were elected in the 193-member General Assembly of the United Nations. 18 new members were elected on the basis of full majority by secret ballot. To be elected to the Council, any country needs at least 97 votes.

India was interested in the seat in the Asia Pacific category. There are a total of five seats in the Human Rights Council from the Asia-Pacific region, for which Bahrain, Bangladesh, Fiji and Philippine had filled their nomination besides India.

Before the election, India’s permanent representative in the United Nations Syed Akbaruddin tweeted, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Fiji, India and the Philippines issued claims for five seats in the Asia-Pacific region in the United Nations Human Rights Council.

India has also been a member of the Human Rights Council in 2007, 2014 and 2017. India’s last term ends on December 31, 2017 According to the rules, India is not eligible to be elected a member of the immediate Human Rights Council because she has been a member twice.

Recommended For You

Brian Lynn

About the Author: Brian Lynn

Brian Lynn is the lead editor with 15 years of experience in the field of journalism, He is Ph.D. Holder in the field of Arts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *